If you buy a new vehicle in Texas and if fails to operate as it should a Texas Lemon Law attorney can help you to get the car repaired properly, replaced by the manufacturer or get the money back that you paid for the vehicle.
When does the Texas Lemon Law apply?
The lemon law in Texas applies to a new vehicle that has been purchased or leased. If the vehicle develops a problem that has a substantial impact on its use, safety or resale value you may be eligible for relief. Before you can employ the law you must first give the manufacturer a reasonable chance to rectify the problem, if the problem cannot be fixed then and only then can you employ a Texas Lemon Law Attorney and file for relief. There is a filing fee of $35 that must accompany the complaint. There are certain tests that are used to determine what constitutes “reasonable” when it comes to the number of chances you must allow for repair.
How many chances does the manufacturer get to fix the problem?
There are certain tests that show the manufacturer or dealer has been given ample opportunity to fix the defect:
The four times test: To pass the four times test you will have had to take the vehicle in for repair twice within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles and twice more during the second 12,000 miles or 12 months. The attempts have to be made on the same reported defect. To pass this test the problem must continue to exist.
Serious hazard test: This test applies when the defect is such that it can prove life threatening, a defect that impeded your ability to drive the car in a normal manner or a defect, that if left unattended can cause a fire or explosion. To pass this test you must have had the vehicle in for repair once in the first 12 months or 12,000 miles and once more in the next 12 months or 12,000 miles and the problem remains.
The 30 day test: You pass this test if your new car has been out of service with a defect that impairs its use or resale value for a total of 30 days during the first 24 months or 24,000 miles and there were a minimum of two attempts to repair the same defect during the first 12 months or 12,000 miles. If you were not provided with a loaner during this period you pass the test.
Once any of these tests have been passed you have the right to engage the services of a Texas Lemon Law attorney should state sponsored mediation fail.
The complexity of the lemon law in Texas is such that it may be wise to hire a Texas Lemon Law Attorney to help you understand the various steps that must be taken prior to you’re getting a refund or a replacement vehicle. You are invited to contact Krohn & Moss Consumer Law Center for more details.