Personal injuries occur every day in just about every state. Whenever someone sustains a personal injury, he or she will usually end up filing a lawsuit against the offending individual or entity. However, the laws for personal injury vary in each state. It is important to become familiar with what those laws are before committing to the task of a personal injury case. There is a Personal Injury Attorney in Murfreesboro TN who tells clients what information they need to know about personal injury cases in Tennessee. Knowing these things will help the client to be in the best position to be successful in his or her personal injury case.
One of the keys things a client will want to keep in mind is the time period in which a personal injury case can be filed. In Tennessee, that time limit is one year. The client has one year to file the case, otherwise no court will hear the case. This means the client has very little time to get his or her information together. He or she must act quickly, hire an attorney and proceed with the personal injury lawsuit.
Tennessee applies the “shared fault” rule. This means if the injured client is found to be any part at fault for the personal injury, up to 50 percent, that amount will be reduced from any damages he or she may receive. If the amount is over 50 percent, the injured party will not be able to collect anything, unfortunately. When it comes to collecting damages, Tennessee has a cap on those damages. The amount for non-economic damages is $750,000. For more severe personal injuries, such as amputations, or the fatality of the parent of a minor child, the amount is $1,000,000.
The Law Office of Gritton & Gritton PLLC has been providing legal solutions for clients in the Murfreesboro, Tennessee area for many decades. The areas of practice include, but are not limited to, premise liability, truck accidents, motorcyle accidents, dog bites and other personal injuries. If in need of a Personal Injury Attorney in Murfreesboro TN, Gritton & Gritton is available. Visit the website.