Automobile accidents occur all the time, and who is at fault becomes a matter of perspective until the truth can finally come out. In the state of Texas, parties injured in car accidents can file a personal injury lawsuit, and they should realize the statute of limitations is two years from the date of the accident. An auto accident attorney in Lubbock, TX helps people who are pursuing a personal injury lawsuit because of automobile accidents. Here is a look at why it is so important to pay attention to the statute of limitations.
The Statute of Limitations in Texas for Auto Accident Lawsuits
It is important for auto accident victims to file their personal injury lawsuits in the two-year time period because if they fail to do so, any chance of having the case heard will likely be gone. Waiting too long to file a personal injury lawsuit about a car accident may cause potential witnesses to forget things that happened, or they may have passed on. The two-year time period is not only for the personal injuries sustained but for any property damage that may have occurred to the vehicle.
More on the Statute of Limitations for Auto Accident Lawsuits
Apart from the statute of limitations, Texas drivers are required to report the accident within 10 days if a policeman does not file a report and there was a death, an injury, or damage to property greater than $1,000. The injured driver should also keep in mind that Texas applies the modified comparative fault rule, which states that if the injured party is found to be more than 50 percent at fault for the accident, no damages will be awarded.
Getting an Auto Accident Lawyer in Texas
Getting an auto accident lawyer in Texas will not be hard, as many attorneys practice personal injury law throughout the state. Blankenship, Attorney at Law is a law firm in the Lubbock, Texas area that helps clients involved in automobile accidents. Anyone in need of an auto accident attorney in Lubbock, TX can contact the lawyers at this firm. Contact us at www.kblankenshiplaw.com.