Driving drunk is never acceptable in any state or Commonwealth, and when a person is charged with such, they had better get a good lawyer. In Texas, an average of three people is either injured or killed in an accident that involves alcoholic beverages, making drunk driving a major problem in the state. A DWI lawyer in Waxahachie, TX helps those who have been charged with drunk driving to get their charges dropped or reduced. The following are some things that clients need to understand about drunk driving in Texas.
The Laws Against Drunk Driving in Texas
One major component that leads to a drunk driving charge is that the offender rarely realizes at what point they are too drunk to legally drive on the highway. When a driver who is over the age of 21 has a blood alcohol content level of .08 percent or greater, they are declared drunk and will suffer the penalties according to the offense. For the first offense, the person can be fined up to $2,000, get 180 days in jail, and lose their driver’s license for up to one year.
More on Texas Drunk Driving Laws
The penalties become more severe as the offenses are repeated, and if a minor is in the vehicle (someone under the age of 15), the offender can face up to $10,000 in fines and jail time of two years. It is also pertinent to know that if a driver refuses to submit to a blood alcohol content test or a breathalyzer, they will face immediate driver’s license suspension. Meanwhile, fines to have the license restored are heavy.
An Attorney Who Can Help in Texas
Mallios & Associates PC have been providing drunk driving representation for clients in the Dallas, Texas and Waxahachie, Texas areas for over 39 years. In addition to drunk driving representation, they also represent clients for personal injury, divorce law, family law and business litigation. Anyone in need of a DWI lawyer in Waxahachie, TX can contact these lawyers.
For more information, visit www.mallioslaw.com and browse to where directed to “Click here”.